Skip to content

Painting of my Chair

August 21, 2009

wingback-chair-paintingAs promised, here is my painting of the wingback chair! Done from the sketch of the wingback chair. This is still a work in progress… It’s been fun and refreshing to work on something other than my abstract paintings. I am using the techniques that I developed in that work to render the chair in a loose but recognizable way.

I approached this painting in a very relaxed way. I’m really just having fun playing around with the paint. I don’t really care if it works out or not, I’m just enjoying the process! I had no forethought about anything other than the composition. The rest has been painting on the fly.

 

 painting-of-wingback-chair

 This is the first incarnation of the painting. Much darker, looser brush work.  It was at this point in the painting that I decided that I wanted the background green. I also wanted to try to bring some more light into the chair and give it a sense of luminosity.

Well, after painting the green, the colour of the floor didn’t work, so I had to fix that. I would also say that I might have gone too far with the “luminosity” of the chair. I kind of like the moodiness of the dark version. Also, I need to be less stingy with the paint! I love the wet on wet look, but I cringe every time I see those huge piles of paint on my palette disappear in three brush strokes.

I’m not sure where this is going… we’ll just have to see where it takes me next!

From → On my Easel

4 Comments
  1. I love it!! I think it looks great right now, but I look forward to seeing it when you’re done:)

    • Thanks Trish! I wish I had more time to work on it, but there never seems to be enough time for anything around here!

  2. Nice job- that is a subject I would have never chosen!

    I like the lighter version best, it has a freshness to it and looks inviting.

    Thanks for sharing your thought process.

    Lori

Leave a Reply

