Skip to content

Portrait: Johnny Depp as Sweeney Todd

August 26, 2009

portrait: johnny depp as sweeney toddHere is the latest page from my sketchbook! I was bored the other night and started digging through DVDs for something good to draw and here is Johnny Depp as Sweeney Todd! I picked this one because of the dynamic light. Please don’t mind the sphere and the scale in the corner… that was for my pointillism tutorial! Done in pencil, it’s mostly shaded and only partially blended, but I think it will stay that way.

This was a lot of fun for me. It was the first time in a LONG time that I’d done anything like this just for myself and I really enjoyed it! My goal at the beginning of the summer was a portrait a week… needless to say, that hasn’t happened! Although I have been sketching a lot more then I was before. After this, though, I might be more inclinced to do more portraits.

The chair painting is currently on hold… I’m working on a piece for OCAD’s Whodunit fundraiser. I seem to have so many projects on the go right now, I don’t know what to do first!

I’m also working on putting together a class for the rec center and a workshop or two for the local gallery. Work starts up again in two weeks, I don’t know how I’ll manage everything!

From → On my Easel

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

