Skip to content

Facebook Fan Pages for Artists: The Who, What, Where, Why and How?

October 14, 2009

facebookFacebook fan pages: they seem to be everywhere these days! I’m reading about them on blogs and forums and I found myself asking, “do I really need one?”

What first sparked this was a conversation on the Wetcanvas forums. People were talking about how their fan pages let them connect with a wide range of people and gave them the freedom to promote themselves only to the friends who are interested.

At first I was skeptical: I already have a website, a blog with RSS feed, a twitter account and my personal Facebook profile. What could I possibly need a fan page for? Would the same people who read my blog and follow me on Twitter really feel the need to be my fan? Would I have enough to say in all those different forums?

The answer, as it was pointed out to me, is that some people only Twitter, some only blog, and some only Facebook. It’s a way to communicate to those who maybe wouldn’t see your work otherwise. As soon as anyone becomes a fan, it’s displayed on their wall to their Facebook friends. It’s great exposure!

The other reason is that it filters out your friends who are genuinely interested in your art. If you’re anything like me, you kind of funny marketing yourself to your Facebook friends. This way, only those who have chosen to be a fan will see those updates.

What sealed the deal for me was Alyson’s post on the Art Biz Blog. She pointed to Lisa’s post, on MakeBigArt.com, which states that it is actually against Facebook rules to use your Facebook profile to promote anything commercial or professional in nature. Therefore, if you want to market yourself on Facebook, you need a fan page!

The Who

A fan page can be for a business, a service, or a professional. When you sign up, you will be asked to indicate what kind of fan page you want; there is an option for “visual artist.”

The What

A fan page is like a special profile page specifically for businesses or individuals who want to promote themselves. People can “become your fan,” which is like adding someone as a friend. The main difference between a profile and a fan page is that you don’t have to approve fans or friend them back. Anyone and everyone can be your fan. There are also options for fans to add content to your fan page, which is a good way to get people interacting!

On your page you will be able to post photos, which you can organize into albums. You can also post videos and links. Another interesting feature you can choose to add is a discussion forum. As well as having these elements, you can update your status as often as you want.

The Where

All of this happens on Facebook. You will need to sign up for a Facebook account and get a profile. You can make your profile as detailed or as minimal as you want. You can also set your privacy settings so that people can’t see your information. Your profile settings won’t affect your fan page in any way. After you have an account, you can start making your fan page.

The Why

A fan page is necessary if you want to be able to use Facebook as a tool to market your work. It’s against Facebook rules to promote professional ventures through a regular profile, not to mention it can be awkward continuously sending your family and friends promotional materials. A fan page lets people choose to sign up to get those kinds of updates.

Another good reason is the of networking that Facebook allows for. When someone becomes a fan, a notice appears on their profile that tells their friends about your fan page. This lets you get exposure to all kinds of people you wouldn’t otherwise reach.

The How

Lisa’s blog has some great, detailed information on how to create a fan page. This takes you through the entire process step-by-step. It’s not difficult, but it can be a little time-consuming when you get to the uploading images part.

 

Conclusion

I have decided to make myself a Facebook fan page. You’ll notice a link to it to the right, along with my RSS and Twitter links. It’s only in its early stages, but we’ll see how it goes! If you want to get updates on my art, my commissions and this blog, come be my fan!

If you’re still on the fence as to whether you need a fan page, check back for my progress report. I’ll let you know what kind of results I’m having!

Do you have a fan page? I’d love to see it! Leave a comment with the link!

From → Drawing

14 Comments
  1. Hi Miranda, I’d be happy to follow your fan page! My fan page is at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Peggy-Stermer-Cox/160056787497. Cool blog posting to! I’m new at the fan pages, but I think your article is right on!

  2. Miranda, you have encouraged me to get back to updating my own fan page on FB! Thank you! It seems as though it is so challenging to keep up these things. I continue to try to link them all together and even that becomes challenging at times.

    I think you have started a storm, maybe, as it seems FB is having a few issues at the moment. I will keep trying to connect with you there and become a fan. In the meantime, I leave you with my fan page address: http://www.facebook.com/kim.rodeffer.funk?ref=profile I hope you will consider joining me, if you have not already!

    Thanks Again for a Wonderful Post!

  3. why thank you Miranda!! and you have the coolest site on my list! there’s always so much helpful info.:)

  4. P.S. I just realized, I have a drawing in my shop named after you;) Must be why Miranda came to mind when I named her!
    http://www.zazzle.com/miranda_keychain-146289087666627526

  5. I will definitely check out your Fan Page and appreciate your interesting information. My FB Fan Page is: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Eccentricity/95273027168?v=wall&viewas=1484601853

  6. Thanks for sharing, everyone!

    Peggy, that link doesn’t seem to work for me; it keeps taking me to my facebook home page, and I can’t find your fan page.

    Kim, it can really be a challenge to keep up with all of these different kinds of communication. Like you say, linking them all up helps a lot. Thanks for sharing your link, I’ve just added you!

    Trish, your shop looks awesome. I might have to look into Zazzle, it seems like a really neat idea!

    Sonnee, thanks for stopping by and sharing your link with us. It’s always great to see what others have done with their fan pages.

  7. Hello Miranda!!

    I also decided to create a fan page for my artwork, please take a look! http://www.facebook.com/pages/Eskimoie/93804456393

    I really want to find more artists so I can add them to my page’s favourites and start building up a network. But for some reason I find it difficult to find fellow artists on Facebook. Which is a shame because it has the potential to be more artist friendly 🙂

    Thank you for posting!!!

    • Hello! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your fan page link. I just visited it and loved your fish ladies, the koi especially! The forums at Wetcanvas are a great place to meet artists. Check out the internet business forum to find other artists and their blogs/twitters/fanpages.

  8. Nyela permalink

    I have a fan page for my art, and it does bring a wide variety of new viewers. Not many seem to want to interact there, though.

    http://www.facebook.com/therebirthofnyela

  9. Great Info, you are absolutely right on with creating a fan page and utilizing Facebook. I founded Socurio an online art marketplace and creative community. We just launched a facebook application called My Socurio. Its free and you can easily display your art on your profile AND fan page. Its really easy to install, all you need is an account with Socurio, which is also completely free 🙂

    Get the latest on Socurio and become a fan

    Cheers,
    Sasha

  10. Dan permalink

    Miranda, thanks for the post. I will opening a page for my paintings and am thankful for the tips you mentioned.

    I will keep a look out for more tips: especially with regard to pricing my art and whether or not to price my items on the page, We shall see, I am not sure about this yet.

    You are on my radar now:)

    • Good luck with your Facebook page! It can be a great way to stay in touch with potential clients. As for pricing your items on the page, the jury seems to be out on that one! Let me know what you find out 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. THURSDAY: Tips : Twitter And Facebook Profile and Pages « Lisa Osgood Dano
  2. Artist Fan Pages on Facebook: Re-visited | Learn to... Art!

Leave a Reply

