Skip to content

Art Marketing Tidbit – Your Mailing List

January 24, 2010

This is something I wish I’d known five years ago!

I’m reading Alsyon Stanfield’s book I’d Rather be in the Studio.  It’s a great resource for art marketing and self promotion, full of simple, easy to accomplish ideas. One of the things Alyson emphasizes is the importance of having a mailing list. I only wish I’d read this book sooner!

If you’re an artist wanting to sell your work, whether it’s part time, full time, or on the side, you need a mailing list. Your list should include anyone who’s purchased a piece from you, anyone who’s expressed an interest in your work, and pretty much all of your friends and family. Give everyone you know a chance to be on your list; you never know where your next commission might come from!

What do you mail? Anything you think your audience might be interested in! Definitely anything about you and your work. If you have a new series on your website, if you are featured in a newspaper or magazine, if you have an upcoming exhibition, let everyone know! Consider using both e-mail and snail-mail. Get creative!

Right now I’m wracking my brain trying to remember anyone who’s ever commissioned work from me, searching my records for contact information and putting together a tentative list. My advice for anyone who is in the very early stages of their career? Save yourself the trouble and start keeping track now!

Here are some articles from Alyson’s blog that will help you get started:

Create Your Mailing List

Include Prior Connections on Your Mailing List

Resources for Your Mailing List

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

