Skip to content

Harder Better Faster Stronger – Words of Wisdom from Daft Punk

February 2, 2010

I love a groovy dance tune as much as the next girl, but I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve never been a huge fan of techno music.

Last night I was doing some painting. Vince was watching wrestling in the next room, so I plugged into my iPod to drown on the angry sounds of men yelling at eachother. By chance, Daft Punk’s Harder Better Faster Stronger came on. I don’t even know how it got on there; to be honest, it’s usually a song I skip past.

But for some reason, the heavy beat resonated with me and I listened to it all the way through. Then again. And again.

I never put songs on repeat!

As I listened, I started to pay attention to the lyrics, and realized how relevant they are to the life of the artist. Consider this:

Work It Harder Make It Better
Do It Faster, Makes Us stronger
More Than Ever Hour After
Our Work Is Never Over

Sound familiar?

As artists, we’re constantly pushing ourselves to the next level.

I’m slowly beginning to realize that success as an artist doesn’t just happen. It’s the result of tireless work both inside and outside the studio. We need to be disciplined and structured in our approach to our art and business.

Go download this song and let me know what you think! The rhythm is awesome to paint to and the repetetive words are like a mantra every artist should live by!

From → Art General

5 Comments
  1. Hi Mirande, oh how familiar this sounds to me:) Wise words. And I just want to say that even if I don’t comment often, I always read your interesting and competent posts where you share your knowledge so generously, you give time to people, and skill, great gifts! Have a wonderful day, and I’m off to listen to this song right now:)
    greetings from Paris
    Andrea

  2. Miranda! Sorry I misspelled your name
    Andrea

    • Hi Andrea! Thanks for the kind words. Sometimes it can feel like we’re working in a vacuum and it’s nice to know there’s actually people out there! I always appreciate hearing from you, thanks for visiting!

      And don’t worry about the typo!

  3. Hi Miranda, what a wonderful blog, and thank you so much for sharing your preciuos advices, you’re GREAT ! I love your art and follow you on FB too. I’m learning by myself with mixed media and acrylics, doing experiments, a lot of mess and canvases discarded, but a lot of fun too. Harder better faster stronger!!! Hugs from Italy! Elisabetta

    • Thanks for stopping by Elisabetta! Italy is one place I would LOVE to go! Maybe one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

