Skip to content

Toot Your Own Horn ‘Cause No One Else Will!

September 8, 2010

art exhibition posterGetting ready for my upcoming exhibition, I am faced with one of the less pleasant aspects of being an artist: self promotion.

As most artists are introspective in nature, it can be very difficult for us to put ourselves in the public eye. But do it we must!

Some galleries handle the bulk of promotion, but the artist often has a hand in it as well. If you’re exhibiting in a less conventional venue, the promotion might be entirely up to you. It’s not enough to display your art, you need to let people know it’s there.

I find that the anonymity of the internet can help alleviate some of my discomfort around self promotion, but online marketing isn’t enough.

Here are some of the strategies I’m considering for promoting my show:

1. Submitting press releases to all local newspapers. This could result in the paper running my release, a journalist developing it into a bigger story, or even an interview.

2. Submitting my event to online and print listings. There are several local websites as well as art publications that take submissions.

3. Blogging about my show and promoting it in my newsletter.

4. Distributing posters around town.

5. Promoting the event on Facebook through both my personal page and my art page.

6. Sending postcards to my mailing list and distributing them to people I work with.

7. Finally, I may also contact our local TV station about featuring my event.

At the end of the day, you want people to see your art. It’s up to you to get it out there and make people notice.

Don’t get overwhelmed with everything you could be doing. As I have to keep reminding myself, you can’t do it all! Pick the strategies that will be most effective for you and go for it!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

