Skip to content

Exhibition Installation Emergency Kit

September 12, 2010

hammer-and-nailsWhen it comes time for an art exhibition, you may be asked to install your own work. Some galleries will do it for you, but others will expect you to do it, or at least to help.

It’s always a good idea to come prepared to an installation. The exhibition space may or may not have what you need, so ask or bring your own materials! This is especially true if your work requires any special installation. Also keep in mind that you may need to make minor repairs on art that’s been damaged during transportation.

I installed my exhibition this morning and brought a little emergency kit with me full of everything I would need. Here is a list of my suggested items:

  1. Screws, plastic reinforcing plugs and nails.
  2. Hammer and screwdriver.
  3. White paint and a brush for any touch-ups that might be needed.
  4. Glue and masking tape for repairs.
  5. Level.
  6. Tape measure.
  7. Extra d-rings and wire.
  8. Pencil.
  9. Sticky tack (just in case).
  10. Artist statement to post on the wall.
  11. Other promotional material to display.

I was particularly glad I brought the glue. My work can be delicate and one of my paintings got a bit damaged somewhere between the house and the gallery. A bit of glue and some tape to hold the piece in place while the glue dried and it was good as new!

Always be sure to arrive at your exhibition installation with anything you think you might need to hang your work. Try to plan for any possibility and be prepared just in case. You may not need any or all of what you bring, but wouldn’t you rather be prepared?

2 Comments
  1. Miranda, You have such impeccable timing! October 1st is the (self-)installation of my solo exhibition and your tips make for a very handy checklist. Thank you, thank you, thank you. ~ S L Donaldson

    • I’m glad that this checklist helped. No matter what I do, I always try to prepare for every possibility. If there’s one thing I hate, it’s being unprepared! Best of luck with your install! Come back and let us know if there was anything else you brought that came in handy.

Leave a Reply

