Skip to content

Applying Problogger’s Elevator Pitch to Art Marketing

September 19, 2010

elevator pitch for artistsOne thing that I’ve always found difficult is talking about my art. It’s not that I don’t like it or that I don’t want to. I love to talk about my work when people show an interest. I love being able to tell people what I do! The problem I have is communicating in a clear, concise way what I do and why I do it.

When people find out I’m an artist, the inevitable question is, “what kind of art do you do?” I usually stammer something about large, abstract paintings, but it never feels like an adequate explanation. Part of the problem is that my art is hard to describe, but the biggest issue is that I’ve never really sat down and thought about the best way to answer the question.

When I first started blogging, I did Darren Rowse’s 31 Days to Build a Better Blog. It’s an amazing program that I would highly recommend to first-time and experienced bloggers. The very first assignment was to write an elevator pitch, a statement that briefly describes the purpose and goals of your blog and mean to spark interest. Originally, the elevator pitch was used by entrepreneurs looking for investment, but this statement can be applied in many different ways.

It wasn’t until very recently that I realized this strategy could be used by artists. By creating an elevator pitch for your art, you not only solidify in your mind what your art is about, you develop a conversation starter that can be used in a variety of social settings. By thinking about these things before hand in a no-pressure situation, you prepare yourself to deliver thoughtful, articulate explanation to any potential clients.

When developing an elevator pitch for your art, remember to consider your audience. Your language might be different when talking to a curator than if you are talking to a co-worker. You want people to understand what you’re saying and be intrigued. Be prepared to expand on what you’ve talked about. Darren suggests you have several elevator pitches of varying lengths depending on what is appropriate to the situation.

I will be putting this idea into practice myself, to better prepare myself for the inevitable question. The next time someone asks me what kind of art I do, I will have a good answer! I’ll be sure to post an example of my elevator pitch soon.

Sign up for my RSS feed to make sure you don’t miss a thing!

One Comment
  1. When it comes to making a living as an artist there are few things more important than knowing and understanding art marketing. Understanding this one skill will change your life, and will allow more of the right type of people to get to know you and your art.

Leave a Reply

